MENU CLOSE

UNPAVED backpacker: let's talk about equipment

We are going to discuss here a very interesting part for those who still doubt the material to adopt for the bikepacking test the Backpacker UNPAVED RACE which will take place from July 5 to 14, 2019.

 

FRAME SIDE: which bike will be best suited to the UNPAVED RACE Backpacker

 

Let's be clear, the goal is to ride for a long time, to jump as little as possible on the saddle of your bike and therefore to be able to pedal smoothly without unnecessary loss of energy. Several bikes are possible on the Baroudeuse Bikepacking RACE but several very important basic criteria must be taken into account:

  • the chosen distance: 317K or 650K or 1150K.
  • your years of cycling and what specificity you come from.
  • your preparation for the event.
  • your posture on the bike.
  • your bikepacking experience.
  • know that the more comfort is added, the more the weight of the machine will be increased.
  • do not underestimate the event.

 

 

And yes these criteria are important and will influence the choice of your frame. The distances of 317K and 650K can allow you to start with a gravel under several conditions:

  1. that your tires are wide enough (strict minimum 40mm) in order to favor comfort, all mounted in tubular obviously to allow low pressure. If you have less, you go to the "pipe breaker".
  2. The other condition if you go on a gravel bike is to love to vibrate, to love the authentic side of the bike and to feel the terrain, it is the minimalist bike of the Baroudeuse Bikapcking RACE par excellence that will allow you to live your journey but for that, friends, be physically prepared to take it. This is why we recommend this bike up to 650K maximum and exclusively for people who know each other well.

Chiru BIKES who is our partner offers us an example of titanium gravel here in 27'5 setup with 1.90 tires: the Waves (compatible in 700 x 43 also), a feather of 8Kg.

 

Chiru Divider - Pinion

 

Beyond and therefore over the greatest distance: 1150K, it will be necessary to rely on another bike configuration, i.e. MTB rigid fork (or suspended at the front is a more or less comfortable choice) 27'5 or 29 ″ or even monster cross, the whole still assembled in tubuless 2.10 ″. These bikes will allow a slightly wider tubular tire fitting, preferably always in order to allow a lower pressure. You will thus jump less on stones and these bikes will absorb roughness better provided the pressure is lowered. Be careful, on this criterion, your healthy weight is also part of the game and the lighter you are, the less you will also suffer.

Gravel bikes are strongly discouraged on the Augustus 1150K long distance. Moreover, Gravel will not be the right choice if you want to perform over all distances.

If we are talking about performance then -> MTB rigid or suspended at the front over all the distances of La Baroudeuse.

If we aim first and foremost finisher -> MTB or gravel on 317K while accepting the constraints of Gravel. Mountain biking or gravel on the 650K (but it will “sting” more for the Graveleux). And finally MTB only on the 1150K.

 

THE 29 ″ RIGID FORK, TITANIUM FRAME OUR ULTIMATE CHOICE

 

An example of the perfect bike that we recommend and which for us remains the must, the lethal weapon on our 3 routes: the Chiru DIVIDER, here in Pinion gearbox assembly, 29 ″ and in 2.10. It will pass everywhere even on technical sectors all in 9Kgs.

Chiru Divider - Pinion
Chiru Divider - Pinion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Obviously, other brands are doing this configuration and it's up to you to approach it. If you really like comfort, go for a suspension fork that is preferably light, because the enemy of the adventurer is obviously weight.

At Chiru, the Kegeti also remains a good alternative even if La Baroudeuse is not classified in the category of technical tracks but this bike will be preferred for those who also like to ride with a straighter back and a less sporty ride. This model remains focused on the mountains but on paths that can sometimes be used like enduro bikepacking. Knowing that on engaged sectors, you will also need to have the technical background to pass, the bike not doing everything!

 

The point not to be overlooked and where it is important to add importance is your preparation. The latter will allow you to fine-tune your setting on the bike. They say that you have to pedal straighter over the long distance but you will also be less efficient in pedaling because the muscle chains that you use regularly on your road bike will not come into action in the same way as on your bike. ultra distance where you will be upright. Your legs and back may not understand and this can penalize you as the days go by. Not to mention that a position that is really too straight will penalize you on the rolling sections facing the wind. A back that is too straight, it is also less developed powers. So do not neglect your preparation which will allow you to refine your posture on your machine in order to increase your performance. Believe us, if you are well prepared, you don't need to be too straightened out!

Your bikepacking experience may influence your equipment. You will choose it thanks to your experience, and the more you have and the more you can rely on it, to refine what you want: comfort, performance, practicality, ergonomics, reliability.

COMFORT SIDE: let's start with the essential basic equipment

We advise you to have a good pair of sunglasses, we are not among the Gauls and the sun comes within the criteria to be taken into account. Besides the little one Baroudeur cap offered for your registration is also recommended under the helmet.

A good pair of gloves to have grip on the handlebars. Having your hands slippery due to perspiration could make you risk a stupid fall on the paths, not to mention that in the event of a small fall, it will always protect you.

 

You will be navigating areas that can be very hot and reach peaks where the temperature can also drop. You therefore need suitable clothing: short jersey and shorts associated with cuffs, leggings, windbreakers with or without sleeves and necessarily a quality raincoat. The cuffs and leggings are practical because you can always take them off or put them back on at your ease.

For the bivouac, if you sleep outside: sleeping bag + bivy. Choose a change of clothes that will keep you warm for sleeping: the Merino fabric is a good alternative because it is thin, light, breathable and good thermal conduction for both cold and heat.

As for shoes, you are clearly oriented towards MTB type cleats. We will not let you take the start with pedals and cleats for look and other type road bikes. It may seem obvious to some but maybe not to others, let it be clear.

 

If you join Backpacker Cycling Community, you will receive a package:

  • Baroudeur Team France cycling outfit (or other country depending on your nationality).
  • Yellow vest.
  • Cap.
  • A meter of reflective tape.
  • -10% on the purchase of a Chiru bike.

All information here: https://baroudeur.team

Select Languages »

MENU CLOSE

Baroudeuse UNPAVED : et si on parlait matériel

Nous allons aborder ici une partie fort intéressante pour celles et ceux qui doutent encore du matériel à adopter pour l’épreuve bikepacking la Baroudeuse UNPAVED RACE qui aura lieu du 5 au 14 juillet 2019.

 

COTE MONTURE : quel vélo sera le mieux adapté à la Baroudeuse UNPAVED RACE

 

Soyons clairs, le but est de rouler longtemps, de sauter le moins possible sur la selle de son vélo et donc de pouvoir pédaler avec fluidité sans perte énergétique superflue. Plusieurs vélos sont possibles sur la Baroudeuse Bikepacking RACE mais il faut tenir compte de plusieurs critères de base forts importants :

  • la distance choisie : 317K ou 650K ou 1150K.
  • vos années de pratique du cyclisme et de quelle spécificité vous venez.
  • votre préparation pour l’évènement.
  • votre posture sur le vélo.
  • votre expérience en bikepacking.
  • savoir que plus on ajoutera du confort et plus on augmentera le poids de la machine.

 

 

Et oui ces critères sont importants et influenceront le choix de votre monture. Les distances de 317K et 650K peuvent vous permettre de partir avec un gravel à plusieurs conditions :

  1. que vos pneumatiques soient assez larges (strict minimum 40mm) afin de privilégier le confort, le tout monté en tubuless évidemment afin de permettre une basse pression.
  2. L’autre condition si vous partez en gravel bike, c’est d’aimer vibrer, d’aimer le côté authentique du vélo et de sentir le terrain, c’est le vélo minimaliste de la Baroudeuse Bikapcking RACE par excellence qui vous permettra de vivre votre parcours mais pour ça les amis, soyez préparés physiquement à encaisser. C’est pour cela que nous conseillons ce vélo jusqu’à 650K grand maximum et exclusivement pour les personnes qui se connaissent bien.

Chiru BIKES qui est notre partenaire nous propose un exemple de gravel titane ici en montage 27’5 avec des pneus en 1.90 : le Vagus (compatible en 700 x 43 également), une plume de 8Kg.

 

Chiru Divider – Pinion

 

Au delà, il faudra tabler sur une autre configuration de vélo type VTT fourche rigide 27’5 ou 29″ ou même monster cross, le tout toujours monté en tubuless. Ces vélos permettront un montage de pneus un peu plus large en tubuless de préférence toujours afin de permettre une pression moins élevée. Vous sauterez ainsi moins sur les cailloux et ces vélos absorberont mieux les aspérités à condition de baisser en pression. Attention, sur ce critère, votre poids de forme rentre dans le game également et plus vous serez léger et moins vous subirez également.

 

LE 29″ FOURCHE RIGIDE, CADRE TITANE NOTRE CHOIX ULTIME

 

Un exemple du parfait vélo que nous conseillons et qui pour nous reste le must, l’arme fatale sur nos 3 parcours : le Chiru DIVIDER, ici en montage boite de vitesse Pinion, 29″ et en 2.10. Il passera partout même sur des secteurs techniques le tout en 9Kgs.

Chiru Divider – Pinion
Chiru Divider – Pinion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evidemment, d’autres marques font cette configuration et à vous de vous en approcher. Si vous aimez vraiment le confort, montez-vous une fourche suspendue de préférence légère car l’ennemi du Baroudeur reste le poids évidemment.

Chez Chiru, le Kegeti reste une bonne alternative également même si La Baroudeuse n’est pas cataloguée dans la catégorie des tracés techniques mais ce vélo sera privilégié pour ceux qui aiment aussi piloter avec un dos plus droit et une conduite moins sportive.  Ce modèle reste axé pour la montagne mais sur des chemins qui parfois peuvent être engagés comme de l’enduro bikepacking. Sachant que sur des secteurs engagés, il vous sera aussi nécessaire d’avoir le bagage technique pour passer, le vélo ne faisant pas tout !

 

Le point à ne pas négliger et où il faut apporter une importance, c’est bien votre préparation. Cette dernière vous permettra de peaufiner votre réglage sur le vélo. On dit qu’il faut pédaler plus droit sur le longue distance mais on sera aussi moins efficient dans le pédalage car les chaines musculaires que vous utilisez régulièrement sur votre vélo de route ne rentrerons pas en action de la même manière que sur votre vélo d’ultra distance où vous serez redressés. Vos jambes et votre dos risquent de ne pas comprendre et ça peut vous pénaliser au fil des jours. Sans compter qu’une position vraiment trop droite vous pénalisera sur les portions roulante face au vent. Un dos trop droit, c’est aussi moins de puissances développées. Ne négligez donc pas votre préparation qui vous permettra de peaufiner votre posture sur votre machine afin d’accroitre votre rendement. Croyez-nous, si vous êtes bien préparé, nul besoin d’être trop redressé !

Votre expérience en bikepacking peut influer sur votre matériel. Vous le choisirez grâce à votre expérience, et plus vous en aurez et plus vous pourrez vous y fier, affiner ce que vous désirez : le confort, le rendement, la praticité, l’ergonomie, la fiabilité.

COTE CONFORT : débutons avec l’équipement de base indispensable

Nous vous conseillons d’avoir une bonne paire de lunette de soleil, nous ne sommes pas chez les Gaulois et le soleil rentre dans les critères à prendre en compte. D’ailleurs la petite casquette Baroudeur offerte pour votre inscription est conseillée également sous le casque.

Une bonne paire de gants afin d’avoir du grip sur le guidon. Avoir les mains qui glissent à cause de la transpiration pourrait vous faire risquer une chute bêtement sur les chemins, sans compter qu’en cas de petite chute, ça vous protègera toujours.

 

Vous allez naviguer dans des zones qui peuvent être très chaudes et atteindre des sommets où la température peut aussi chuter. Il vous faut donc des vêtements adaptés : maillot et cuissard courts associés à des manchettes, jambières, coupe vent avec ou sans manche et obligatoirement un imperméable de qualité. Les manchettes et jambières sont pratiques car vous pourrez toujours les enlever ou les remettre à votre aise.

Côté chaussures, vous êtes clairement orientés vers des cales types VTT. On ne vous laissera pas prendre le départ avec des pédales et cales pour des vélos de route type look et autre. Ca peut sembler évident pour certain mais peut-être pas pour d’autres, que ce soit clair.

 

Si vous rejoignez Baroudeur Cycling Community, vous recevrez un package :

  • Tenue cycliste Baroudeur Team France (ou autre pays suivant votre nationalité).
  • Gilet Jaune.
  • Casquette.
  • Un mètre de ruban réfléchissant.
  • -10% sur l’achat d’un vélo Chiru.

Toutes les informations ici : https://baroudeur.team