MENU CLOSE

Augustus RACE 1150K - MTB or Gravel ++: The adventure race

Majestic this typical course MTB or gravel ++ classified in category UNPAVED which means to pedal at 80% on the tracks in kind and 20% on secondary roads. A 1150K loop through landscapes of an exceptional variety, of course predominantly mountain, whether small, medium or high. This is the beauty of what we offer at La Baroudeuse; to see beautiful things, don't you have to gain height?

Augustus is the Alpes Maritimes, the Var, the Vaucluse, the Alpes de Haute Provence, the Hautes Alpes.

 

DEPARTURE BETWEEN SEA AND MOUNTAINS

La French Riviera, you know it hectic, where we party, where there are stars and people, where the frenzy may prevent you from coming to discover this region.  The Baroudeuse allows you to discover the Alpes Maritimes and its surrounding departments as many know how to love it: NATURE & DISCOVERY. The bling bling, we leave it to others, it is an attraction for us. What we are looking for above all is communion with nature and the elements.

Departure village - La Turbie / Photo credit: Nicolas Abassit Photography

You will leave from the village of La turbie at an altitude of 500m for a loop of several days of cycling through mountains and crossing fantastic rivers. You will start with the hinterland Monaco and Nice. The superficial vision that you can have of the Côte d'Azur will already seem far away from your first turns of the cranks. You will pass through the medieval village of Shovel (which is the start & finish village of La Baroudeuse ROAD RACE). Enjoy these views between sea and mountains of a beauty recognized in the world.

 

Gorges du Verdon - Lake of Sainte Croix / Photo credit: Nicolas Abassit Photography

THE VERDON & ITS THROATS

Le Yes will be mainly represented by Gorges du Verdon and wild nature. This river separates the pre-Alps of Castellane and the pre-Alps of Digne, it takes its source near the Col d'Allos to flow 175K further into the lake of Sainte Croix. Azure blue, this artificial lake where the old village of Salles sur Verdon was covered will allow you to savor this first part of the adventure, surely the most technical of the course. Moustiers-Sainte-Marie will serve as your host village after already… K and… d +.

 

 

LAVENDER FIELDS AT MONT VENTOUX

Plateau de Valensole - Verdon / Photo Credit: Nicolas Abassit Photography

The tracks were rocky, sandy, they will give way to the pebbles of the Mediterranean under your wheels. Indeed you can imagine that in some places what is now a dry and arid land was under water. The rollers will slip out under your wheels in some places.

A white mountain will stand in your way, a bald and lunar Mount which dominates the Provence and will become a belvedere of Hautes Alpes. You will not go quite to its summit in order to favor the nature side. Surrounded by lavender fields, vines, and palpable fauna, it is a recognized reserve area Biosphere by Unesco. Strict rules will have to be observed in this sector. (We will talk about this at the briefing)

 

A BIG GOOD TO LES ECRINS & LAC DE SERRE PONCON

Augustus RACE 1150K

At the gates of Ecrins National Park, Embrun that you will dominate is nicknamed the "Nice of the Alps" because of the quality of the climate and its sunshine. You will cross its Lake which will be filled with fantastic turquoise water. It will then be time to gain height to connect the Mercantour National Park by the Tunnel du parpaillon.

 

CLEAN YOUR GLASSES - BEWARE OF RETINS

Indeed after a superb ascent on a majestic track, it is the highest pass in Europe, the Peak of the Bonette who will be waiting for you. What can we say about its rather lunar landscape because we are used to seeing it like this, even if the 2018 edition gave us a glimpse of a Bonette so green thanks to the amount of snow it had fallen all winter. Mother Nature will leave you with a magnificent spectacle, be sure!

You will then go into the Mercantour Park to gently slide towards theItaly : the Piedmont and Ligurie.

 

THE MOUNTAINS WILL COME AND THEY WILL NEVER BE THE SAME

On your way and all along the Augustus, you will be able to notice the remains of Strong Military which are still present and will be long after our death. Remains from the two world wars, the buildings are impressive. In the mountains, the Forts are like Icebergs, you have the visible part and what is not represents 90% of the building. Imagine “Gravel” galleries under the mountainous rocks…

Augustus RACE 1150K

At the gates of Valley known as Merveilles and you will understand why it bears this name, this highly regulated nature reserve will be the gateway to 100K at an altitude of over 2000m without crossing a shop. Open your eyes, be attentive, the wolves roam, the ibex and their militia the marmots dominate the heights of the place.

La Baroudeuse Augustus, you have to do it to believe it, to believe that you are already capable of doing it, and that in France on a studied bicycle route, the landscapes are so majestic.

A FINISH IN THE HEART OF THE VINEYARDS BETWEEN SEA AND MOUNTAINS

After this penultimate part ofadventure, the return to civilization will do you good and even if it is done by a village, you will feel this feeling of arriving straight from the lungs of the Earth. We will let you approach the seaside as you left it several days before, that is to say by tracks and secondary roads, here through vineyards, mountains and sea.

La Turbie is reaching out to you, the circle will soon be complete, you will no longer see the bike as before, you will no longer see yourself as before, you will be free to brandish your Rudius and express your freedom and courage for crossing that finish line.

Select Languages »

MENU CLOSE

Augustus RACE 1150K – MTB ou Gravel++ : La course des aventuriers

Majestueux ce parcours typé MTB ou gravel++ classé dans la catégorie UNPAVED ce qui signifie pédaler à 80% sur des pistes en nature et 20% sur routes secondaires. Une boucle de 1150K à travers des paysages d’une variété exceptionnelle à dominante bien entendu montagne, qu’elles soient petites, moyennes ou hautes. C’est là toute la beauté de ce que nous proposons à La Baroudeuse ; pour voir de belles choses, ne faut-il pas prendre de la hauteur ?

Augustus c’est les Alpes Maritimes, le Var, le Vaucluse, les Alpes de Haute Provence, les Hautes Alpes.

 

DEPART ENTRE MER ET MONTAGNES

La Côte d’Azur, vous la connaissez mouvementée, là où on fait la fête, où il y a des stars et du monde, où la frénésie vous empêche peut-être de venir découvrir cette région.  La Baroudeuse vous permet de découvrir les Alpes Maritimes et ses départements environnants comme beaucoup savent l’aimer : NATURE & DECOUVERTE. Le bling bling, on le laisse aux autres, c’est pour nous une attraction. Ce qu’on cherche avant tout, c’est la communion à la nature et aux éléments.

Village départ – La Turbie / Crédit photo : Nicolas Abassit Photographie

Vous partirez du village de La Turbie à 500m d’altitude pour une boucle de plusieurs jours de vélo à travers des montagnes et au passage de rivières fantastiques. Vous débuterez par l’arrière pays Monégasque puis Niçois. La vision superficielle que vous pouvez avoir de la Côte d’Azur vous semblera déjà bien loin dès vos premiers tours de manivelles. Vous passerez par le village médiéval de Peille (qui est  le village départ & arrivée de La Baroudeuse ROAD RACE). Profitez de ces points de vue entre mer et montagnes d’une beauté reconnue dans le monde.

 

Gorges du Verdon – Lac de Sainte Croix / Crédit photo : Nicolas Abassit Photographie

LE VERDON & SES GORGES

Le Var sera essentiellement représenté par les Gorges du Verdon et sa nature sauvage. Cette rivière permet de séparer les préAlpes de Castellane et les préAlpes de Digne, elle prend sa source à proximité du col d’Allos pour se déverser 175K plus loin dans le lac de Sainte Croix. D’un bleu azur, ce lac artificiel où fût recouvert le vieux village des Salles sur Verdon vous permettra de savourer cette première partie d’aventure, surement la plus technique du parcours. Moustiers Sainte Marie vous servira de village d’accueil après déjà …K et …d+.

 

 

DES CHAMPS DE LAVANDE AU MONT VENTOUX

Plateau de Valensole – Verdon / Crédit Photo : Nicolas Abassit Photographie

Les pistes ont été rocailleuses, sablonneuses, elles vont laisser la place aux galets de la Méditerranée sous vos roues. En effet vous pourrez imaginer qu’à certains endroits ce qui est maintenant une terre sèche et aride était sous l’eau. Les galets se déroberont sous vos roues à certains endroits.

Une montagne blanche se dressera sur votre route, un Mont Chauve et lunaire qui domine la Provence et deviendra un belvédère des Hautes Alpes. Vous n’irez pas tout à fait à son sommet afin de privilégier le côté nature. Entouré de champs de Lavande, de vignes, et une faune palpable, c’est un domaine reconnu réserve Biosphère par l’Unesco. Des règles strictes seront à respecter dans ce secteur. (Nous en parlerons au briefing)

 

UN GRAND BON VERS LES ECRINS & LE LAC DE SERRE PONCON

Augustus RACE 1150K

Aux portes du Parc National des Ecrins, Embrun que vous dominerez est surnommée la  »Nice des Alpes » de par la qualité du climat et son ensoleillement. Vous traverserez son Lac qui serra rempli d’une eau turquoise fantastique. Ca sera ensuite l’heure de reprendre de la hauteur pour relier le Parc National du Mercantour par le Tunnel du Parpaillon.

 

NETTOYEZ VOS LUNETTES – ATTENTION AUX RETINES

En effet après une superbe ascension sur une piste majestueuse, c’est le col le plus haut d’Europe, la Cime de la Bonette qui vous attendra. Que dire de son paysage plutôt lunaire car on a l’habitude de le voir ainsi, même si l’édition 2018 nous a laissé entrevoir une Bonette si verdoyante grâce à la quantité de neige qu’il était tombé tout l’hiver. Dame nature vous laissera un spectacle magnifique, soyez certain !

Vous vous enfoncerez ensuite dans le Parc du Mercantour pour doucement glisser vers l’Italie : le Piémont et la Ligurie.

 

LES MONTAGNES VONT S’ENCHAINER ET ELLES NE SERONT JAMAIS PAREILLES

Sur votre route et ce tout au long de la Augustus, vous pourrez remarquer les vestiges des Fort Militaires qui sont encore présents et le seront bien après notre mort. Vestiges des deux guerres mondiales, les édifices sont impressionnants. En montagne, les Forts sont comme des Icebergs, vous avez la partie visible et ce qui ne l’est pas représente 90% de l’édifice. Imaginez des galeries de  »Gravel » sous les roches montagneuses …

Augustus RACE 1150K

Aux portes de la Vallée dite des Merveilles et vous comprendrez pourquoi elle porte ce nom, cette réserve naturelle très règlementée sera la porte d’entrée de 100K à plus de 2000m d’altitude sans croiser un commerce. Ouvrez vos yeux, soyez attentifs, les loups rodent, les bouquetins et leur milice les marmottes dominent les hauteurs des lieux.

La Baroudeuse Augustus, il faut la faire pour le croire, y croire qu’on est capable de le faire déjà, et qu’en France sur un parcours vélo étudié, les paysages soient si majestueux.

UN FINISH AU COEUR DES VIGNES ENTRE MER ET MONTAGNES

Après cette avant dernière partie d’aventure, le retour à la civilisation vous fera du bien et même si il se fait par un village, vous ressentirez cette sensation d’arriver tout droit des poumons de la Terre. On vous laissera approcher le bord de mer comme vous l’avez quitté plusieurs jours auparavant, c’est à dire par des pistes et routes secondaires, ici à travers vignes, montagnes et mer.

La Turbie vous tend les bras, la boucle sera bientôt bouclée, vous ne verrez plus le vélo comme avant, vous ne vous verrez plus comme avant, vous serez libre de brandir votre Rudius et d’exprimer votre liberté et votre courage d’avoir franchi cette ligne d’arrivée.